Marriage License Information

HOW TO APPLY FOR A MARRIAGE LICENSE IN LOUISIANA
Effective January 1, 2016

MARRIAGE LICENSE COST $35.00 – CASH, CHECK, OR MONEY ORDER

COVENANT MARRIAGE LICENSE COST $45.00 – CASH, CHECK, OR MONEY ORDER

APPROXIMATE APPLICATION TIME IS 30 MINUTES

PLEASE APPEAR NO LATER THAN 4:00 PM TO BEGIN THE APPLICATION PROCESS AS OUR OFFICE CLOSES AT 4:30 PM.

All of the following must be provided:

Application
  • One applicant must be present to apply.
  • Application for Marriage License forms are available on our website, can be picked up at our office or completed in person at our office.
  • Applications must be signed before a Deputy Clerk or Notary Public.
  • Members of the US armed forces shall not be required to execute the application if a copy of the military ID card of the absent member is provided.
Previous Marriages
  • The number of former marriages for each party and whether marriage ended by divorce or death.
Proof of Termination of Prior Marriage
  • If either party was married before, we need a certified copy of the Divorce Judgment/Decree showing the date of divorce. If marriage ended by death, provide a certified copy of the death certificate.
  • If Divorce Judgment/Decree or Death Certificate is not in English, in addition,  a translated copy which contains a sworn declaration by the translator that he is fluent in the respective language and of the translation and that the translation is true and accurate.
Social Security #
  • Each party’s last 4 digits of their social security number.
  • If party is not a US Citizen or lawful resident, this party must submit a government issued identification card, a passport, a visa issued by the United States Department of State, or a Certificate of Naturalization issued by the United States Citizenship and Immigration Services.
Birth Certificate
  • A certified copy of the birth certificate under seal of the state or US territory, or LA birth card.
  • If you are born outside of Louisiana you must provide the long form birth certificate (birth cards are not accepted).
  • Effective August 1, 2017, a marriage license can also be issued pursuant to Louisiana Code of Civil Procedure Article 74.3.1 enacted by Act 419 (2017) if a Certificate of Naturalization by the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Authority is provided in lieu of a birth certificate, a letter from a birth registration official, or a waiver.

Birth certificates for those born in the State of Louisiana may be obtained from our Office for $34.00. Birth Cards can be purchased along with a Birth Certificates for $48.00. A Valid Driver’s license or ID must be provided to obtain a copy. These transactions are CASH only.

Foreign birth
  • An applicant born outside the US or territory of the US, must submit a copy of their birth certificate under raised seal or stamp by their proper registration authority.
  • If the birth certificate is not in English, in addition, a translated copy which contains a sworn declaration by the translator that he is fluent in the language of birth and of the translation and the translation is true and accurate.
  • Also, letter required by R.S. 9:227, a valid and unexpired passport, or an unexpired visa accompanied by Form I-94 as issued by the United States or a Certificate of Naturalization by the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Authority.
Record of no birth
  • If no birth record exists, a letter by the proper registration authority of the state, territory or country of birth, under raised seal or stamp must be submitted. The letter must state a thorough search was made and no birth record was located. The letter and proof of birth facts must be submitted to the Judge.
  • Also, letter required by R.S. 9:227, a valid and unexpired passport, or an unexpired visa accompanied by Form I-94 as issued by the United States or a Certificate of Naturalization by the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Authority.
  • The Judge/JP may waive the birth certificate (if no record) of an applicant born in any state or territory of the US.
Driver’s License
  • A valid and unexpired driver’s license, government issued ID or valid and unexpired passport from the country of birth or an unexpired visa accompanied by Form I-94. (Originals)
Address
  • Addresses for mailing for the both parties and Parish of residence.
Education
  • The highest grade of education completed for each party must be stated.(Including trade school)
License Expiration
  • The Marriage License expires 30 days from date of issuance. The ceremony must be performed before the expiration date. (LRS 9:235)
Waiting Period
  • The couple must wait 24 hours from the time/date of issuance before they wed, unless they obtain a waiver of the 24-hour waiting period from our District Judge or Justice of the Peace. The waiver must be obtained before the ceremony and must be attached to the marriage license and filed with the Clerk. (LRS 9:242 revised 08/01/18) (A certified copy is given to the couple to present at ceremony)
Ceremony
  • A Minister of the Gospel, Judge or Justice of the Peace may perform the ceremony. A license to marry issued in Louisiana, must be used within the territorial limits of the State of Louisiana. Two witnesses of full age must also sign the Certificates. (LRS 9:244)

Completed marriage licenses are to be submitted to the Clerk’s Office within 10 business days of the ceremony

Other
No blood tests are required for Marriage License in Louisiana.

Consanguineous or Adoptive Relationship
Civil Code Article 90 prohibits marriage within the 4th collateral degree.
You must not be related by blood or adoption.

Forms
Marriage Application
Covenant Marriage Booklet

Covenant Marriage
A Covenant Marriage requires the same as above in addition to premarital counseling and two documents declaration of intent and affidavit signed by couple, counselor and notary. There is an additional cost of $10.00 for this Marriage.

Ministers are required to register with the Clerk of Court according to Act 229 of 1952.

A Marriage Application is available.

Copies of Marriage Licensee

Our records go back to the 1800’s.
We will have a record of the license only if it was originally purchased in this Parish.

If you would like to purchase a copy of a marriage license you can either come by the office or mail in a request with the names of the bride and groom. The cost is $7.00 for certified copies and $2.00 per page for regular copy.

Mail request to:
St Charles Parish Clerk of Court
Attn: Marriage Dept
PO Box 424
Hahnville La 70057

PLEASE CONTACT THE CLERK OF COURT OFFICE IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS OR NEED ADDITIONAL INFORMATION.
OFFICE HOURS: MONDAY-FRIDAY, 8:30 AM TO 4:30 PM Excluding Legal Holidays
Phone #985-783-6632